Introducing…

So.  It’s been a busy week.  My water broke on Saturday around 9:30 pm and on Tuesday at 4:05 am, this little creature was cut from my body:

Named after my grandma Jessie and David’s grandma Shirley Anne.  Weighing in at 8 pounds 3 ounces, 2 weeks premature and with more hair than your average toddler.

I only got home from the hospital around 4:00 on Friday, so for those playing along, that’s 55 hours of  labour followed by an emergency c-section, followed by 84 hours sitting around a hospital.  Yeah.  Pretty traumatic, all told, and I’m still working to process what the hell just hit me.

But, no matter how bad this bit is, it’s hard to argue that she is indeed, pretty cute.  I think we shall keep her.

5 responses to “Introducing…

  1. Congratulations! Welcome to the world, little one.

    And amazing job, Mom! 2.5 days of labor? You are a superhero! I am in awe.

    I love the name. Our daughter is also named for her grandmothers.

    I wish you all days of wondering at your marvelous creation. And hopefully a little sleep too.

Leave a Reply

