Borrowing trouble

So the basement and work continue to eat my life.  The basement has been patched, drywalled, painted, the floor is 2/3 done, the hearth is tiled.  We still need to: do baseboard, grout fireplace surround, get bar top, tile backsplash, CLEAN EVERYTHING, put all the stuff back, add shelves in the craft room, find/create cases for David’s two special hockey jerseys ( gameworn McDonald and Fluery, if you’re curious), setup computers, pass out on the couch half dead.  Add in the two+ jobs at work thing, and you have a pretty exhausted Morgan.  Whatever, I’ll live, but man, I’m ready for this reno to be done.  (We’ll break the 10K mark any day now.  Sigh.) 

My mother continues to drive me batty.  She’s currently going through her teenage years, complete with “it’s complicated” boyfriend, heavy drinking and new career plans.  While I’m happy that she’s happy, it’s a little weird to take calls from your mother at work where she talks about drinking in the park out of a paper bag, you know?  (And worse.  Yikes.)  A year ago, she told me that if I had a child, it would heal all of her emotional wounds (mainly from my father’s death, I’m assuming).  Now?  Every other time we talk (until my sister called her out and made her stop) she brings up the fact that she’s not ready to be a grandma and that I shouldn’t have a kid yet.  Yes.  Not just once.  More like 6 times over the course of a couple of months.  So.  Thoughts.  Clearly, eventually I will be pregnant and need to tell her.  I know I’m borrowing trouble, but the thought of that fills me with fear.  Because she is the QUEEN of misreacting. 

I wrote a long post about her for A Practical Wedding, and rereading it, I sound all sane and calm and rather at peace about this.  This feels different.  Because there’s a life at stake, not a wedding?  (And could I BE any more fucking dramatic?)  But as David points out, when it happens, I’ll eventually have to tell her.  Otherwise, she’ll start getting critical of my weight, and that will just be annoying.

My in-laws are lovely.  They were in town for a family wedding in June, and one night my father in law got drunk and told us about how he didn’t want to pressure us in any way (he repeated this about seven times) but he just wanted us to know that when we are ready to have kids, they are totally ready and will be very supportive and happy.  Not that he wants to pressure us, he said (slurred?) but that he wanted us to know that they were ready and would be supportive.  No pressure!  It was really cute, and clearly came from a happy place.

Yeah, I totally beat David in the in-law game.  I get this lovely couple, and he gets my mother…

3 responses to “Borrowing trouble

  1. I suspect that once you are pregnant and tell her she may change her tune – otherwise just tell her that it isn’t about her it’s about you and your family and that she needs to suck it up. I don’t know what your Mum is like but sometimes people need the tough love approach to get over themselves – and this includes our mothers.

  2. Pingback: Truth | highdivingboard

Leave a Reply

