Chugging along

So that happened.

Then we went up to Edmonton for the weekend and stayed at the Fantasy Land Hotel in the Roman room.  Complete with round bed, mirrors on the ceilings and all the walls, and a giant jacuzzi tub that took 40 minutes to fill and we watched tv from the tub.  Also, several hours of waterslides.  And a bunch of rum.  It was pretty awesome, and a night in a theme room has been on my wish list since I was 6.

I also ate bean sprouts and sushi. I mean, of course.

Whatever. It apparently happens 50-60% of first pregnancies. I wasn’t event particularly late, it’s just that I know my body very, very well and can identify changes. A life time of illnesses and a decade with digestive issue make me pay a lot of attention to how I feel, all the time. hoping to be pregnant made me even more vigilant. (Also, the heartburn, gas, ginormous boobs that I couldn’t fit in to my coat, bloating and ladypart twinges were pretty clear.) So that happened and we’ll try again in a few weeks and go from there.

On thing it did make me think about is telling people when we are sucessfully expecting. I told my closest girlfriends (and the internet) about losing it as soon as it happened, basically. ANd I’m glad I did. Support was instant and needed. But. The thought of telling my mother? NO. No. Am I allowed to tell my friends before family? Can I tell his supportive family before I tell my mother? Please? I know I’m borrowing problems here, but it is a worrying one. She’s … a challenge. One I don’t relish dealing with…

4 responses to “Chugging along

  1. Not that it will make you feel better but I think I know more moms who have had miscarriages than those who haven’t. And you tell whoever you feel comfortable telling – it’s your body and your baby after all. With both of my pregnancies my Mum insisted I tell my brother right away – my brother who is unable to have children/acts like he doesn’t like children – and I wish I didn’t. I wish I waited longer because it was ackward and he quickly changed the subject to his dogs both times and well, I just wish I didn’t.

  2. I’d probably tell my friends before my mom, too. But I’d tell my mom pretty soon after so feelings wouldn’t get hurt, blah, blah, blah. I don’t know how long you’ve read my blog or if you just happened by today, but I have a complicated relationship with my mom, too. In fact, this is how nuts I am with my mom:

    1. My blog’s title comes from my mom. She once told me she didn’t think I was the marrying kind.

    2. I created my fake name a long time ago and it never occurred to me until recently that I’d used my mother’s initials.

    See? Complicated. Do what feels right. It will all work out in the end. : O )

  3. Thanks for posting this. I think this just happened to me so re reading your story is comforting. Now, time to step away from the net before the crazies set in!

Leave a Reply

